New Release Round-Up 09-16-16

New Releases Friday 16 September 2016

LED ZEPPELIN - The Complete BBC Sessions - Atlantic
Nearly 20 years ago, Led Zeppelin introduced BBC Sessions, an acclaimed two-disc set of live recordings selected from the band's appearances on BBC radio between 1969 and 1971. Now the band will unveil The Complete BBC Sessions, an updated version of the collection that's been newly remastered with supervision by Jimmy Page and expanded with eight unreleased BBC recordings, including three rescued from a previously "lost" session from 1969. Available as a 3-CD Box Set, a 5-LP Box Set and a Super Deluxe 3-CD/5-LP Box Set.

DAWES - We're All Gonna Die - Hub Records
Dawes’ highly anticipated new album We're All Gonna Die is released via the band’s own HUB Records. Of the album, Taylor Goldsmith (guitar, vocals) explains, “Pretty much every song on this record explores a difficult situation and tries to find a way to find the good in it, or at least remind yourself that it's not always that big of a deal. After all, as scary as it is, we are all gonna die.” The album was produced by Grammy-nominated producer Blake Mills (Alabama Shakes) and includes backing vocals from Jim James of My Morning Jacket, Brittany Howard of The Alabama Shakes, Mandy Moore, Will Oldham, and Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of Lucius. Also available on Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Yellow Marbled Vinyl.

TAKING BACK SUNDAY - Tidal Wave - Hopeless Records
"Most of the 12-track album is an ode to the old school pop punk that co-frontmen Adam Lazzara and John Nolan grew up listening to. With bands like The Ramones and Lagwagon etched into their surfboards, diehard pop-punkers can enthusiastically ride the churning ocean of 'Oi! Oi!'-style call-and-response vocals and breakneck beats found on the title track and 'In the Middle of it All.' But not-so-young emo kids looking to time warp back to their angsty youth won’t be able to hang ten with TBS anymore." -

DIE ANTWOORD - Mount Ninji & Da Nice Time Kid - Zef Records
In 2009 Die Antwoord (Translated From Afrikaans As "The Answer") burst onto the international scene out of the deep dark depths of South Africa. The rave rap duo of Ninja and ¥O-Landi Vi$$Er introduced Zef Culture into the pop culture lexicon, and pop culture hasn't been the same since. Early videos "Zefside" and "Enter The Ninja" racked up a combined 35 million views, the band's website crashed due to the influx of traffic, and no one has been able to look at Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon art the same way again. Their 2012 anthem "I Fink U Freeky" from their sophomore album Ten$Ion, currently has over 87 million YouTube views. Now Die Antwoord releases their third album, Mount Ninji & Da Nice Time Kid, and the video for "Banana Brain."

AGAINST ME! - Shape Shift With Me
"For more than 15 years, Against Me! has explored Laura Jane Grace’s private interactions with various political realities that annoy and exasperate her; going public as a transgender woman in 2012 opened the door to a fresh trove of such material for 2014’s Transgender Dysphoria Blues. Having said so much on that record—and, perhaps, given how much others have said on issues of transgender rights and societal acceptance in recent years—it makes sense that Grace has eased off similar observations for Shape Shift With Me. As that title suggests, it’s a much more personal album, dealing largely with romance and other sticky matters of the heart." - The A.V. Club

PREOCCUPATIONS - Preoccupations
"It’s a somber tone with which to begin proceedings but Preoccupations (formerly known as Viet Cong) are an uncompromising band - from the outset, they’re only interested in realising their own vision, following their own individual path. They do say you only get one chance to make a first impression but here, on their second self-titled album, they’ve somehow rubbished the rules of one of the oldest proverbs around. Ripping up the rule book comes effortlessly to the Calgary punks, it seems. ... Preoccupations is not just a record of harsh bangs and explosive moments. It is equally a subtly nuanced album, with considered composition just as important a part of the process. The record ebbs and flows from one movement to the next with thoughtful progression. ... What will make us Brits jealous about this record is its pedigree is very much Factory Records, Wire, The Cure, The Fall and all things British but now the North Americans sell it back to us expertly." - The Line of Best Fit


AARON LEWIS - SinnerAARON LEWIS - Sinner - Dot RecordsAARON LEWIS - Sinner
Known for genuinely gritty lyrics and hard rock anthems, Aaron Lewis is getting back to his country roots with his first album on Dot Records entitled Sinner. Lewis comes out of the gate with both fists flying on the lead single "That Ain't Country," where he laments the current state of country, if you call it that, and pines for the sound of his honky-tonk heroes. The Bocephus-styled musicality and Lewis's accessible vocals showcase the pain, heartache and desperation, a bedrock of traditional country that is often missing from the airwaves today.
Video Available 



Meat Loaf - Braver Than We Are
Usher - Hard II Love
Mac Miller - The Divine Feminine
Bad Suns - Disappear Here
Cymbals Eat Guitars - Pretty Years
Willie Nelson - For the Good Times: A Tribute to Ray Price
Lang Lang - New York Rhapsody
Young Guns - Echoes
Carrie Newcomer - The Beautiful Not Yet
AlunaGeorge - I Remember [LP]
The Devil Makes Three - Redemption & Ruin
Chinx - Legends Never Die
Keaton Henson - Kindly Now
The Handsome Family - Unseen
Mndsgn - Body Wash
Sumerlands - Sumerlands
Bobby Rush - Porcupine Meat
Kishi Bashi - Sonderlust
Kool Keith - Feature Magnetic

& More .....

The Mavericks - Harvest Moon
Truckfighters - Hawkshaw
Todd Snider - Enough Is Enough
John Prine - I'm Tellin' You (Feat. Holly Williams)
Ghost - Popestar EP

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.