New Release Round-Up 09-23-16

BILLY BRAGG & JOE HENRY - Shine A Light: Field Recordings From The Great American Railroad

BILLY BRAGG & JOE HENRY - Shine A Light: Field Recordings From The Great American Railroad - Cooking Vinyl
In March 2016, singers Billy Bragg and Joe Henry, guitars in hand, boarded a Los Angeles-bound train at Chicago’s Union Station with the hope of reconnecting with the culture of American railroad travel and the songs it inspired. Winding along 2,728 miles of track, the pair recorded songs while the train paused to pick up passengers. In waiting rooms and at the track side in St. Louis, Fort Worth, San Antonio, Alpine, El Paso and Tucson, they set up their recording equipment, performing classic railroad songs while keeping one eye on the train, bounding back aboard just before pulling out for the next town. After four days crossing the country, they pulled into Los Angeles at 4:30am, recording their final song in Union Station at dawn, just as the first birds began to sing. The resulting album, Shine A Light: Field Recordings From The Great American Railroad, takes listeners along on that journey and is out now on Cooking Vinyl Records. The album features the perfectly matched voices of Bragg & Henry and captures the varied atmospheres and environments in which they recorded—from the close proximity of soft-furnished sleeping cars to cathedral-like ambience of waiting halls built to hold thousands of passengers. Containing thirteen songs originally recorded by legendary singers such as Lead Belly, Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers and more, the album reveals an often forgotten but integral part of America’s musical heritage.

PASSENGER - Young As The Morning, Old As The SeaPASSENGER - Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea - Nettwerk RecordsPASSENGER - Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea
Young As The Morning, Old As The Sea is the eighth studio album from Mike Rosenberg, the Brighton-born singer/songwriter better known as Passenger. A prolific achievement for an artist who is still only just turned 30 last year. The album was recorded at a combination of Roundhead Studios in Auckland, a studio lovingly built from scratch by Neil Finn and back at Linear studios in Sydney.
Video Available 

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN - Chapter and Verse - Sony
Chapter and Verse is the audio companion to Bruce Springsteen's autobiography, Born To Run. Five of the album's eighteen tracks are previously unreleased. Springsteen selected the songs on Chapter and Verse to reflect the themes and sections of Born To Run. The compilation begins with two tracks from The Castiles, featuring a teenaged Springsteen on guitar and vocals, and ends with the title track from 2012's Wrecking Ball. The collected songs trace Springsteen's musical history from its earliest days, telling a story that parallels the one in the book, and is a must for any Bruce Springsteen fan.

WARPAINT - Heads Up - Rough Trade US
It’s easy to get the wrong impression about Warpaint. The band’s studio albums (including their most recent full-length, 2014’s Warpaint) have tended to emphasize moody atmospheres: gauzy keyboards, hypnotic harmonies and sinister grooves. In concert, however, the Los Angeles quartet pair this moodiness with bumped-up tempos and sinewy beats. The music’s no less dark—but it has an additional rhythmic urgency and tension that can be surprising. Of course, confounding expectations has been part of Warpaint’s m.o. since the band formed in 2004. And so when the band convened to make their third studio album, Heads Up, they shared a common goal: to make a faster, dance-oriented record. Mission accomplished.

DEVENDRA BANHART - Ape In Pink MarbleDEVENDRA BANHART - Ape In Pink Marble - NonesuchDEVENDRA BANHART - Ape In Pink Marble
Devendra Banhart's new album, Ape In Pink Marble, was written, produced, arranged, and recorded in Los Angeles by the singer / songwriter / guitarist with his longtime collaborators Noah Georgeson and Josiah Steinbrick, both of whom also worked on Banhart's most recent album, Mala (2013). 
Early Listen Available Video Available 

BOXED IN - MeltBOXED IN - Melt - Nettwerk RecordsBOXED IN - Melt
Following the critically acclaimed self-titled debut that NME said “will enhance your life," Boxed In releases Melt, which includes the single "Jist." Boxed In has garnered support from BBC Radio 1 and 6 and tastemaker LA radio station KCRW, who chose Boxed In as an “Artist You Should Know” for 2015. With comparisons to LCD Soundsystem and Hot Chip, Boxed In is intellectual without being pretentious, wide-ranging yet accessible and will unite club and indie-rock crowds in a way so few can do.
Video Available 

EVERY TIME I DIE - Low TeensEVERY TIME I DIE - Low Teens - EpitaphEVERY TIME I DIE - Low Teens
Buffalo's Every Time I Die have never been a typical hardcore act. The band have been forging their own musical and ideological path via their distinctive brand of aggressive music and unstoppable live shows. Those who have caught a show understand the powers of Keith Buckley (vocals), Andy Williams (guitar), Jordan Buckley (guitar), Daniel Davison (drums) and Steve Micciche (bass) onstage. Each performer is wildly different from the other, making each show experience truly unique. While entering their 18th year as a band, Every Time I Die continues to push the hardcore paradigm. With seven albums under their belt Every Time I Die continue to push themselves further into brighter territory as a legendary band. Fans can expect more of                                that with Low Teens
Video Available

BEACH SLANG - A Loud Bash Of Teenage Feelings - Polyvinyl Records
Less than a year after their debut full-length landed on year-end lists from the likes of AV Club, Paste, SPIN, and Noisey, and earned praise from sources as diverse as Pitchfork to People magazine, Beach Slang return with their sophomore album A Loud Bash Of Teenage Feelings. Written and recorded in the midst of a relentless touring schedule that found the band selling out sweat-drenched shows across the U.S. and Europe, A Loud Bash is exactly what its title implies -- a raucous collection of shout-along punk rock anthems anchored by frontman James Alex's trademark heart-on-sleeve lyricism. Also available as an Indie Exclusive Limited Edition White Starburst and Reflex Blue Vinyl.



Crobot - Welcome To Fat City
Shawn Mendes - Illuminate
My Chemical Romance - The Black Parade / Living with Ghosts (The 10th Anniversary Edition) [2CD]
Idina Menzel - Idina
Joe Bonamassa - Live At The Greek Theatre [2CD]
Fleetwood Mac - Mirage: Remastered [Expanded 2CD]
Matt Berry - The Small Hours
David Bowie - Who Can I Be Now? (1974 to 1976) [12CD Box Set]
Reckless Kelly - Sunset Motel
Trap Them - Crown Feral
Rachael Yamagata - Tightrope Walker
Too Close To Touch - Haven't Been Myself
Katie Dey - Flood Network
Game Theory - The Big Shot Chronicles
Dreamworks Animations's Trolls [Soundtrack]
How To Dress Well - Care
Kansas - The Prelude Implicit
Greensky Bluegrass - Shouted, Written Down & Quoted
Dwight Yoakam - Swimmin' Pools, Movie Stars...
Skylar Grey - Natural Causes
The Sword - Low Country
Lvl Up - Return To Love
Budderside - Budderside

& More .....

Sam Evian - Sleep Easy [Limited Edition Vinyl Single]
Kings Of Leon - Walls
Temple Of The Dog - Angel Of Fire (Demo)
Set It Off - Upside Down

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.