New Release Round-Up 03-04-16

RNDM - Ghost RidingRNDM - Ghost Riding - Dine Alone Records
Sophomore album from the group comprised of Jeff Ament (Pearl Jam), Joseph Arthur (Fistful of Mercy) and Richard Stuverud (The Fastbacks) features 11 brilliant tracks that pull from all band members' influences.

Ray LaMontagne releases his sixth studio album, Ouroboros. The album was produced with Jim James of My Morning Jacket and features the single "Hey, No Pressure."

M. WARD - More Rain - Merge Records
M. Ward returns with a stunning new album, More Rain, on Merge Records. Ward has released a string of acclaimed solo albums over the past several years, along with five LPs with Zooey Deschanel as She & Him and a 2009 collaborative album with My Morning Jacket’s Jim James and Bright Eyes’ Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis under the moniker Monsters of Folk.

LORETTA LYNN - Full CircleLORETTA LYNN - Full Circle - Sony Legacy
Full Circle is the first new studio album in over ten years from American music icon Loretta Lynn. Produced by Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash, and recorded at the Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee, Full Circle takes listeners on a journey through Loretta's musical story, from the Appalachian folk songs and gospel music she learned as a child, to new interpretations of her classic hits and country standards, to songs newly-written for the project. Drawing inspiration from personal memories and deep connections to American music, Lynn's 13 new recordings capture the essence of these songs in intimate new performances.   

MIIKE SNOW - iii - Atlantic
The band's third album, iii, wasn't crafted in one fell swoop. Instead, the musicians collaborated across space and time, meeting in Stockholm, Los Angeles, and New York for short periods over almost two years. They brought in a variety of other musicians and producers into the studios with them, feeling more open to outside collaboration this time around. Each musician began with different songs, sometimes sending them back and forth digitally when they couldn't be together in one room. As a whole, the album feels resolutely like a Miike Snow project, defined both by the two efforts that have come before and by the collective work of the three musicians. The combination of the musicians is an electric one, as exemplified on the album and in their live shows. 

VIOLENT FEMMES - We Can Do Anything [Indie Exclusive Low Price]VIOLENT FEMMES - We Can Do Anything [Indie Exclusive Low Price] - PIAS America
“We’ve always done what we wanted and how we wanted,” says Violent Femmes’ Gordon Gano says. “Fundamentally there’s no difference from then until now. It’s a natural continuation.” Violent Femmes’ ninth studio album and first full-length collection in more than 15 years, We Can Do Anything may well be part of a long musical continuum but it is also among the most provocative and playful in the legendary band’s remarkable canon. As the title makes plain, founding Femmes Gano (vocals, guitar, banjo) and Brian Ritchie (acoustic bass guitar, vocals) remain intrepid as ever before, traversing infinite genre and emotion via their immediately identifiable mash of rambunctious folk, minimalist punk, cubist blues, cosmic jazz, and back porch rock ‘n’ roll. “What the Femmes are,” says Ritchie, “and I think we always have been, is a repository for American roots music. Most people think of us as a kind of rock band but we’re a lot more than that and I think this album represents all that in a really natural, cohesive way. It just flows smoothly between all these ideas.” 
Early Listen Available

Folk Hop N' Roll is the second full length album from Nashville-based band Judah And The Lion. They have created a new genre called "Folk Hop", and again have partnered with producer Dave Cobb (Jason Isbell, Chris Stapleton) to mesh the sound of the Beastie Boys with Mumford & Sons and a few other things in between.
Early Listen Available Video Available 




Esperanza Spalding - Emily's D+Evolution
Nada Surf - You Know Who You Are
Thao & The Get Down Stay Down - A Man Alive
La Sera - Music For Listening To Music To
Cub Sport - This Is Our Vice
Polica - United Crushers
Devo - EZ Listening Muzak
The Struts - Everybody Wants
Heron Oblivion - Heron Oblivion
Frank Solivan - Family Friends & Heroes
Wintersleep - The Great Detachment
Janis Joplin - Janis: Little Girl Blue (Soundtrack)
Hotel Lights - Get Your Hand In My Hand [Vinyl]
Ben Abraham - Sirens
The Coral - Distance Inbetween
The Knocks - 55

& More .....

Sarah Borges - Good And Dirty EP
EERA - Eera EP [Vinyl]
Haroula Rose - Songbird

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.