New Release Round-Up 06-24-16

New Releases Fri 24 June

THE AVETT BROTHERS - True Sadness - Republic
In a heartfelt personal letter penned by Seth Avett, Grammy Award®-nominated alternative folk collective The Avett Brothers revealed details of their new album, True Sadness. "True Sadness is a patchwork quilt, both thematically and stylistically. Wherein a myriad of contrasting fabrics make perfect sense on the same plane, this album draws upon countless resources from its writers and performers." He goes on to cite pervasive and cornerstone influences such as, Queen, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Jimmie Rodgers, Tom Petty, Nine Inch Nails, Gillian Welch, Aretha Franklin, Walt Disney, Pink Floyd, Kings of Convenience, calypso of the 1950 s and country of the 1930's. "Most importantly, throughout the album, we stitched together the boldest red and the calmest green, polka dots and stripes, the roughest denim and the smoothest velveteen. They came together because they are the best patterns we have and because each of us brought our own fabric to the quilting frame."

DJ SHADOW - The Mountain Will Fall

DJ SHADOW - The Mountain Will FallDJ SHADOW - The Mountain Will Fall - Mass AppealDJ SHADOW - The Mountain Will Fall
The Mountain Will Fall is the new album from Californian hip-hop legend DJ Shadow. The album includes the outstanding single "Nobody Speak" featuring Run The Jewels. Other guests on the release include Nils Frahm & Ernie Fresh. "A sprawling and ambitious record, cohering in a distinct style, but nonetheless exploring numerous and varied soundscapes on its journey to an eerie conclusion." - The AV Club 
Video Available 


DEERHOOF - The Magic - Polyvinyl Records
After all the accolades from press and peers, what’s a legendary band to do? Forget the recording studio, rent out an abandoned office space in the middle of the New Mexico desert, set up, plug in and play REALLY LOUD. Starting with hardly a notion of the outcome, by seven days later Deerhoof had found (you guessed it) The Magic: a raw and refreshing 15-song wallop of an album about what happens when you leave your comfort zone.

"98 uninterrupted minutes long, Earth flows as a collection of 13 songs from throughout my life, songs I have written about living here on our planet together. Our animal kingdom is well represented in the audience as well and the animals, insects, birds and mammals actually take over the performances of the songs at times." - Neil Young 

MELVINS - Vinyl Remasters - Third Man

Birthed in the Pacific Northwest gloom of Aberdeen that would spawn grunge music and culture, the Melvins were writing songs that were clearly inspired by the right stuff and written for the right people… and they had Nirvana’s unequivocal stamp of approval, which meant everything in the early '90s. For the next four years after their signing to Atlantic Records, the Melvins would deliver three stellar, influential albums that were criminally only moderately appreciated at the time. In the past 23 years, they’ve continued onwards with Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover, and a revolving cast of bassists at the helm, cementing themselves as one of the most important American rock bands of all time. Houdini, Stoner Witch, and Stag have all been out of print on vinyl for over two decades and original copies can command into the three figures in back alley craps games. Third Man Records is proud to reintroduce these titles to the hungry vinyl-buying public, all remastered from original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and given the deluxe, gatefold jacket treatment.

WE ARE SCIENTISTS - Helter Seltzer - 100%
We Are Scientists, the Brooklyn, New York-based power pop troupe return with their fifth album, Helter Seltzer. and released via 100% Records, it is preceded by the single release of 'Buckle', the album's opening track. For this album We Are Scientists asked their ex-keyboard player Max Hart, who had just finished a three-year stint as keyboardist for Katy Perry. In early March, the team got to work. Sifting through the options, a direction emerged: they would use the tones and trickery of radio pop to add a sweet sheen to the new crop of distinctively We Are Scientists songs. Months of toil and trial and error finally brought the right balance, and the finished recordings were shipped to mixer Chris Coady at Sunset Sound in L.A. Coady has quietly emerged in recent years as one of the finest mixers of glossy indie pop, with credits that include Future Islands, Beach House, and !!!. In 'Helter Seltzer' he knew he had an album that should shimmer but also bang, and he applied all of the magic and sauce at his disposal to insure it did exactly that.

RICH ROBINSON - Flux - Eagle Records
With Flux, Rich Robinson presents his most accomplished solo album to date--13 new, original songs that draw deeply on his diverse roots. A blues-rock odyssey straight from Robinson’s soul, the guitarist returned to Applehead Studios in Saugerties, NY, the recording facility that has become his creative hub. Nestled away within Woodstock’s famed artist enclave, Robinson’s work at the studio has yielded Woodstock Sessions, The Ceaseless Sight, and now Flux.

THE EXPLORERS CLUB - Together - Goldstar Recordings
The Explorers Club mark their return with Together, the quintet's third album of harmony-laden sounds. Hot off the heels of their first release, Freedom Wind, which showcased their Beach Boys influences, and the triumphant follow-up, Grand Hotel, an exploration of classic soft pop ideals, Together is sure to be the soundtrack for Summer 2016. Jason Brewer, founder and visionary of the band, has patterned the album in the mold of post-Pet Sounds Beach Boys classics such as Friends, Sunflower and Love You, while adding his own unique touches and flourishes of inspiration with his band mates. Listeners can expect exquisite harmonies, tight musicianship, flowing melodies, and gorgeous vocals. "Together" is a must for fans of well-crafted pop music.

JON PARDI - California SunriseSUBLIME - Remastered Vinyl - Geffen Records
This month marks 24 years since the sight of Opie's demented sun and the tunes off Sublime's debut album, 40 Oz. To Freedom! To help celebrate, Geffen are re-releasing 40oz. To Freedom along with Robbin' The Hood and Sublime on remastered 180g 2-LP gatefold with removable 3D lenticular cover art. Also making their debut on newly remastered standard weight 1-LP are Second Hand Smoke, Stand By Your Van and Acoustic: Bradley Nowell & Friends. Click here for the full lineup of remastered vinyl along with a few classic Sublime releases.



Drowners - On Desire
Motorhead - Clean Your Clock
The Mystery Lights - The Mystery Lights
Jerry Garcia - Garcialive Volume 6: July 5, 1973 Lion's Share
Bangles - Ladies And Gentlemen... The Bangles!
The Alan Parsons Symphonic Project - Live In Columbia
The Rippingtons - True Stories
Whitechapel - Mark Of The Blade
Dorothy - Rockisdead
Blink-182 - Enema Of The State [Limited Edition Vinyl]
Bun E. Carlos - Greetings from Bunezuela!
Melanie De Biasio - Blackened Cities
The Interrupters - Say It Out Loud
Mock Orange - Put The Kid On The Sleepy Horse
The Felice Brothers - Life In The Dark
Eggs Over Easy - Good 'N' Cheap: The Eggs Over Easy Story
Broods - Conscious

& More .....

Nai Harvest - Just Like You / Jelly [Vinyl Single]
Arctic - Arctic EP
Lavashark - State Trooper / Susie Q EP [Vinyl]

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.