New Release Round-Up 08-12-16

New Releases 12-Aug-2016

THEE OH SEES - Weird Exits - Castleface
Emerging from the distant light is the new double-LP from John Dwyer's Thee Oh Sees - the first studio recordings to capture the muscular rhythm section of twin drummers Ryan Moutinho and Dan Rincon with ringer bassist Tim Hellman cracking spines. The groove and bludgeon one has come to expect from the band's live shows is captured seamlessly here-they go from zero to head-splitter, and on the rare occasions they do let up on the gas a bit, you're treated to some locked-in hypnotizers, too. The guitar sounds more colossal and ethereal at the same time, riding roughshod over the vacuum-sealed rhythm section, spiraling skywards, and diving into the emerald depths so quick your guts tingle. Synths, strings and smoke-soaked things crawl behind the scenes to make an extra far-out party platter, served on 45 RPM plates for most excellent listening quality. With amazing visuals (including a side-D etching by airbrush-van-art maestro Robert Beatty) and packed in vape-proof goatskin, it's a beast and, come August 12th, it can be yours should you so choose.

CASPAR BABYPANTS - Away We Go! - Aurora Elephant
Away We Go is the 11th album by Seattle kids entertainer Caspar Babypants. Caspar is also known as Chris Ballew from the rock and roll band the Presidents of the United States of America. The album spans from up tempo tunes to sleepy time songs.

OF MONTREAL - Innocence Reaches - Polyvinyl
Of Montreal is one of the preeminent indie bands of the past 20 years. They are known the world over for their over-the-top live show spectacle (which has included frontman Kevin Barnes riding a live horse out onto the stage at Roseland Ballroom in New York City), elaborate stage sets, and often features more theatrical performers than musicians. The band has performed at everything from Coachella to Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza to Sasquatch and even Hollywood Bowl opening for Miss Grace Jones.

DJ KHALED - Major Key - Epic
2016 album from legendary producer DJ Khaled known as the "Quincy Jones of hip-hop & R&B" with T.I., Swizz Beats, Yo Gotti, 2 Chainz, Pusha T, Rick Ross, Fabolous & A$AP Ferg

Eleventh overall record from Nashville, TN duo Jeff The Brotherhood and first for Dine Alone in the United States. Zone features a brilliant return to their power riffage and impeccable songcraft.

SAVOIR ADORE - The Love That RemainsSAVOIR ADORE - The Love That Remains - Nettwerk RecordsSAVOIR ADORE - The Love That Remains
Savoir Adore's new album, The Love That Remains, was self-produced with mixing by Claudius Mittendorfer (Big Data, Neon Indian, Weezer), and finds the band at its most mature, honest and ambitious. Now led solely by principal songwriter/vocalist Paul Hammer, the album tackles themes of love, loss and the often-inescapable darkness of memories.

Early Listen Available Video Available 

YOUNG THE GIANT - Home Of The Strange - Fueled By Ramen
On Home Of The Strange, Young the Giant's third full-length effort, the Southern California quintet buffer their passionate indie rock with polished production, resulting in their funkiest offering to date. Here the band opt for pop sheen and impeccable production courtesy of Grammy-winning producer Jeff Bhasker (Kanye West, Bruno Mars, Mark Ronson) and Alex Salibian (Elle King, Mikky Ekko). The increased reliance on danceable beats and the layers of atmosphere mark Home of the Strange as the most exciting in their discography, if only because it offers more than a generic post-Coldplay arena rock sound. There are tastes of OneRepublic's genre-blending, Walk the Moon's indie-pop brightness, and even a little Hot Chip weirdness. It's also their biggest statement, conceptually tied to the ideas of living in "Amerika" and the related immigrant experiences faced by emigres and their offspring, which the bandmembers can each claim to different degrees.



Rae Sremmurd - Sremmlife 2 [Deluxe]
Blind Pilot - And Then Like Lions
Lakuta - Brothers & Sisters
The Amity Affliction - This Could Be Heartbreak
The Pineapple Thief - Your Wilderness
Waterstrider - Nowhere Now
Ruby The RabbitFoot - Divorce Party
Justin Moore - Kinda Don't Care
Blossoms - Blossoms
Atmosphere - Fishing Blues
Black Tape For A Blue Girl - These Fleeting Moments
Brendan Canning - Home Wrecking Years
Citizen Zero - State Of Mind
Cody Jinks - I'm Not The Devil

& More .....

SickWalt - Get Well Soon EP
Ann Wilson - The Ann Wilson Thing! - #2 Focus EP
John Prine - Color Of The Blues (Feat. Susan Tedeschi)
Liz Longley - Electricity
De La Soul - Drawn
Lisa Hannigan - Ora
Drake White - Live Some
Faith No More - Evidence (Version En Español)