New Release Round-Up 08-26-16

GLASS ANIMALS - How to Be A Human Being

GLASS ANIMALS - How to Be A Human BeingGLASS ANIMALS - How To Be A Human Being - HarvestGLASS ANIMALS - How to Be A Human Being
"[Glass Animals'] debut record ZABA was a jungle. It was claustrophobic, insular, secretive, cryptic, and frequently jaw-dropping; it rarely gave much away, but the beauty was evident, and it remains a richly rewarding listen years after its release. How To Be A Human Being is demonstrably clearer – Glass Animals jump into the daylight, toying with form and themes and never looking back. It's still lush and varied, with all the quirks and signature twists that makes Glass Animals sound like Glass Animals, but it's boosted by a confidence in their own weirdness and a desire to explore the world around them." - The Line Of Best Fit
Video Available 

DREAMERS - This Album Does Not Exist - Fairfax Recordings
After more than two years of nomadism and cross-country touring, as well as two EPs, Los Angeles' Dreamers unleashes its debut full-length LP This Album Does Not Exist. The smart pop trio, comprised of Nick Wold (vocals/guitar), Nelson (bass/vocals), and Jacob Wick (drums), wrote much for the album in Brooklyn before moving to L.A. and tracking at Fairfax Recordings (formerly Sound City Studios). Led by singles like "Drugs" and "Sweet Disaster," DREAMERS pits the party and the paranoia of escapism in seemingly effortlessly tight, three-minute tunes. Album tracks like "Pain Killer" and "Lucky Dog" follow in this vein, swinging with handclaps and driving with sing-along choruses. Throughout This Album Does Not Exist, DREAMERS toys with themes of existence and existentialism, but it's easy enough to get sucked into their world and dance the big questions away. Also available as an Indie Exclusive Limited Edition White Vinyl 

THE VEILS - Total DepravityTHE VEILS - Total Depravity - Nettwerk RecordsTHE VEILS - Total Depravity
The Veils, fronted by lead singer and songwriter Finn Andrews, release their highly anticipated new album Total Depravity. The album features production by El-P (Run The Jewels) and Adam 'Atom' Greenspan who was behind the band’s critically acclaimed album Nux Vomica.
Early Listen Available Video Available 

DE LA SOUL - And The Anonymous Nobody - A.O.I. LLC
"Arriving 12 years after The Grind Date, De La Soul’s latest is its most lively affair yet. Credit the Rhythm Roots Allstars, with whom the trio recorded over 300 hours’ worth of music, for skillfully guiding the group through previously uncharted territory including psychedelic space-pop ('Property Of'), art rock ('Snoopies') and indie pop ('Here In After'). With help from the likes of David Byrne, Damon Albarn, Usher, and Little Dragon, among others, Nobody veers into the realm of pure pop, with the trio’s patented hip-hop only one color on the sonic canvas. And while so much of the record sounds fresh, other elements feel comfortably broken in. The skits are playful, the trio’s wordplay is reliably pointed and clever, and there’s a kinetic energy to the record that’s almost tangible. Finally unencumbered by outside voices and legal red tape, this sounds like the kind of record De La Soul has always had in it, and likely the one its members have always wanted to make." - The AV Club

THE BEACH BOYS - Becoming The Beach Boys: The Complete Hite & Dorinda Morgan Sessions - Omnivore Recordings
In September of 1961, Al Jardine, Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, and Mike Love stepped up to a microphone together for the first time at the home of Hite and Dorinda Morgan to demo The Beach Boys’ first three songs. Between that September date and March 1962, before signing a seven-year contract with Capitol Records, they committed nine songs to tape under the direction of Hite and Dorinda Morgan. Some iconic, others obscure—“Surfin’,” “Luau,” "Lavender,” “Surfin’ Safari,” “Surfer Girl,” “Judy,” “Beach Boy Stomp” (aka “Karate”), “Barbie,” and “What Is A Young Girl Made Of.” Every complete take, false start, master take, and every second of studio banter during these historic recordings is gathered on this landmark collection, Becoming The Beach Boys: The Complete Hite & Dorinda Morgan Sessions



Barbra Streisand - Encore: Movie Partners Sing Broadway
Britney Spears - Glory
The Album Leaf - Between Waves
Banks & Steelz - Anything But Words
The Devil Makes Three - Redemption & Ruin
Jack Ingram - Midnight Motel
Cass McCombs - Mangy Love
Ingrid Michaelson - It Doesn't Have To Make Sense
Butch Walker - Stay Gold
Liz Longley - Weightless
Walter Schreifels - An Open Letter To The Scene
Kula Shaker - K2.0
Florida Georgia Line - Dig Your Roots
Joseph - I'm Alone, No You're Not
L.A. Salami - Dancing With Bad Grammar: The Directors Cut
Morgan Delt - Phase Zero
Sylar - Help!
Ashleigh Smith - Sunkissed
Twisted Sister - The Best Of The Atlantic Years
Juicy J - Tgod Mafia: Rude Awakening
Dinosaur Pile-Up - Eleven Eleven
Various Artists - Continental Drift
The Monkees - The Monkees 50

& More .....

Prophets Of Rage - The Party's Over EP
No Joy - Drool Sucker
Dawes - When The Tequila Runs Out
Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats - Pusher Man
Elise Davis - Penny
Korn - Insane
Hiss Golden Messenger - Tell Her I’m Just Dancing
Brother Moses - Legends EP

For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.