New Release Round-Up 05-19-16

New Releases May 19 2017

VARIOUS ARTISTS/O.S.T. - Singles - Sony Legacy
The newly expanded Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack features the album's original 13 tracks, newly mastered, with a bonus CD of rarities and unreleased tracks. The new bonus CD features previously unreleased recordings by Mudhoney, Paul Westerberg, Mike McCready and Chris Cornell in addition to rarities such as Cornell's 1992 EP Poncier (debuting an early rendition of "Spoonman") and tracks from the film not included on the original soundtrack album. This expanded edition includes, for the first time on CD, "Touch Me I'm Dick," the signature track from Singles performed by Citizen Dick (a fictional band created for the film featuring frontman Matt Dillon backed by Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder, Stone Gossard and Jeff Ament). Also included are revelatory liner notes--and a track-by-track description of the album's musical contents--written especially for this collection by Cameron Crowe, the screenwriter and director of Singles. The film's soundtrack is produced by Danny Bramson and Cameron Crowe.

WAVVES - You're Welcome - Ghost Ramp
"While there’s a sense of pastiche to its varied plundering of genres and eras, Wavves impressively makes these disparate sounds and eras its own. You’re Welcome isn’t a mere homage to the history of popular music; the band has assimilated these influences into its own sonic approach. As a result, even Wavves’ familiar inspirations feel invigorated. The title track sounds like Weezer being played half-speed and underwater, but it eventually takes on a ghostly tint courtesy of rickety organ. Opening track 'Daisy,' meanwhile, is loopy, beach-blanket bingo rock ’n’ roll with stinging guitar riffs, and 'Stupid In Love' possesses a thrashing surf-rock beat. Six albums in, [singer/songwriter Nathan] Williams still doesn’t have life figured out, but he’s still fired up to try." - The A.V. Club

The King & I is a duets album that will take listeners through a unique journey of Faith and Biggie's relationship. The album features unreleased Biggie vocals and is packed with original productions by DJ Premier, Just Blaze, Stevie J, Salaam Remi, Chucky Thompson, Puff Daddy and more. The album also features guest artist Lil Cease, Snoop Dogg, Busta Rhymes, Jadakiss, Styles P, Sheek Louch (founders of The L.O.X. hip hop group), 112, and a first time collaboration with legendary hip hop artist Lil Kim. The narrative of The King & I is compelling, compassionate, and offers a very personal glimpse into the love life of two of the biggest hip hop & R&B artists of all time.

From Peter Hughes of the Mountain Goats: "The theme this time around is goth, a subject closer to my heart perhaps than that of any Mountain Goats album previous. And while John writes the songs, as he always has, it feels more than ever like he’s speaking for all of us in the band, erstwhile goths (raises hand) or otherwise, for these are songs that approach an identity most often associated with youth from a perspective that is inescapably adult. Anyone old enough to have had the experience of finding oneself at sea in a cultural landscape that’s suddenly indecipherable will empathize with Pat Travers showing up to a Bauhaus show looking to jam, for example. But underneath the outward humor, there is evident throughout a real tenderness toward, and solidarity with, our former fellow travelers—the friends whose bands never made it out of Fender’s Ballroom, the Gene Loves Jezebels of the world—the ones whose gothic paths were overtaken by the realities of life, or of its opposite. It’s something we talk about a lot, how fortunate and grateful we are to share this work, a career that’s become something more rewarding and fulfilling than I think any of us could have imagined. We all know how easily it could’ve gone the other way, and indeed for a long time did."

MATISYAHU - UndercurrentMATISYAHU - Undercurrent - Fallen Sparks Rec.MATISYAHU - Undercurrent
Singer-songwriter Matisyahu has been on a journey inward for more than a decade. The journey has been private and public. The journey has at times been explicitly external, even while being driven by internal change. Now, nearly thirteen years after the release of his first studio record, Matisyahu and his band have done something unmatched in his past repertoire; they have crafted that journey into a musically thematic eight-song-movement.

 Early Listen Available Video Available



Rascal Flatts - Back To Us
Pokey Lafarge - Manic Revelations
Fastball - Step Into Light
Erasure - World Be Gone
Daniel Romano - Modern Pressure
Tigers Jaw - Spin
MISTERWIVES - Connect The Dots
Jade Jackson - Gilded
Blink-182 - California [Deluxe Edition]
!!! (Chk Chk Chk) - Shake The Shudder
DragonForce - Reaching Into Infinity [CD+DVD]
Gothic Tropic - Fast Or Feast
Los Straitjackets - What's So Funny About Peace, Love And Los Straitjackets
Rammstein - Rammstein: Paris [2CD]
Dirty Dancing [Original Television Soundtrack]
Waters - Something More!
The Kooks - The Best Of... So Far

& More .....

Jason Isbell - If We Were Vampires
Anathema - Can't Let Go


For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section and don't forget that many of these titles are also available on vinyl.