Record Store Day 2018 Staff Picks: Lars' List!

Record Store Day 2018 Staff Picks: Lars' List!

Nine days till Record Store Day 2018, and our staff continues to deliver their recommendations! Today, the spotlight's on sales clerk/vinyl buyer/Bread & Butter guitarist Lars...niiiice list, man!

Redd Kross - Third Eye - LP

Third Eye is the major-label debut album by Redd Kross, released by Atlantic Records in 1990. The album has been unavailable in recent years, and has not been released on vinyl in the US since its original release. The album features one of Redd Kross's fan favorites, "Annie's Gone." This limited edition color vinyl pressing comes with a lyric insert, and is exclusively available to independent record stores for Record Store Day 2018.

The Lurkers - Fulham Fallout - LP

40th Anniversary Record Store Day edition. The Lurkers were the first ever band on Beggars Banquet and the whole label history boils down to their existence. Pressed on orange vinyl.

The Beau Brummels - Bradley's Barn - 2xLP

The Beau Brummels originally formed in San Francisco in 1964. The band's debut single, "Laugh Laugh" helped break them into the mainstream and would later be cited as helping to establish the San Francisco Sound. By 1968, Sal Valentine (lead vocals) and guitarist Ron Elliottt were a duo when they stepped into Owen Bradley's studio in Mt. Juliet, TN, about a half hour outside Nashville. With legendary producer Lenny Waronker in tow and backed by some of Nashville's finest session musicians, they conjured up an intimate and heartbreaking final stop on their five year journey from British-folk rockers to alternative country obscurity. What they created was like nothing else and has stood the test of time. This deluxe expanded edition for Record Store Day pulls together the homespun, inviting and timeless music created in Bradley's Barn and adds a bonus LP of demo recordings that are finally making their debut on vinyl.

Shocking Blue - Single Collection As & Bs, Part 1 - 2xLP

One of the most famous Dutch bands is the Shocking Blue. Their biggest hit, Venus," is just one of the many songs which can be found on the 28-track double LP Single Collection, originally released in 1997. Here you can listen to magnificent and powerful B-sides like "Fireball Of Love," "Hot Sand," "Wild Wind," and "Roll Engine Roll," to name just a few, which could all easily have been A-sides as well. This essential compilation album is a perfect introduction to all other albums by Shocking Blue. This Record Store Day release includes a fan treat and is available as a limited edition of 3000 individually numbered copies on transparent blue vinyl.

Demon Fuzz - I Put a Spell On You - 7" EP

The seven-piece afro-rock band Demon Fuzz released their debut album Afreaka! in 1970. It became an instant hit and a popular source for sampling. One of the songs on the album is the cover of the Screamin' Jay Hawkins classic "I Put a Spell on You." The 7” edition lets us feel the raw power of the mash of Afro-Latin funk, psychedelica and breakbeats. Two other songs can be found on the vinyl, the deep and groovy “Message to Mankind” and the rhythmic shifts of the lengthy instrumental “Fuzz Oriental Blues.” Demon Fuzz formed in 1968 in England and developed from a soul band to a supergroup which implemented funk, jazz, rock, and African music in their songs. Highly sought-after 7inch of this cult band, high in demand.

The Open Mind - The Open Mind - LP

One of the most legendary and collectible of all British psychedelic albums, this definitive vinyl reissue comes with a poster, 45 (with picture sleeve), and detailed booklet packed with rare images.

Blue Öyster Cult - Rarities Vol. 2 - 2xLP

Nineteen BOC rarities, dating from 1975-1988 on blue double vinyl, with rare photos and liner notes featuring quotes from the band. Will include a "golden ticket" photo autographed by Eric Bloom and Buck Dharma in 100 copies.

Cuby + Blizzards - LSD/Your Body Not Your Soul - 7"

“L.S.D. (Got A Million Dollars)” and “Your Body Not Your Soul” are songs from legendary Dutch blues and rock band Cuby + Blizzards. The 7" was released in 1966 and is a retrospective of the Dutch “Nederbeat” sound made popular by illegal pirate radio stations and live-performances by artists and groups from Holland. Cuby + Blizzards recorded over 20 albums during their career and former band members included Herman Brood, John Lagrand and many other famous Dutch artists. This in-demand single is now newly remastered and is available for Record Store Day in a limited run of 1.000 copies on white vinyl.

Baby Huey - The Baby Huey Story - 2xLP

James Thomas Ramey, better known by his stage name Baby Huey, was born in Richmond, Indiana and moved to Chicago in the early '60s to front his band The Babysitters with co-founders Melvin Deacon Jones on trumpet and Johnny Ross on guitar. By the time they recorded The Living Legend, only Huey and Jones remained (Deacon Jones would go on to play with Freddie King and John Lee Hooker). Because of a glandular disorder, Huey weighed close to 400 pounds at times, contributing to his "larger than life" stage presence, but also to a host of health issues. During the later '60s, The Babysitters followed Sly and the Family Stone's lead and became a psychedelic soul act, with Huey adding rhymes to their stage act. Curtis Mayfield, tipped off by Donny Hathaway, came to check them out and they were in the midst of recording The Living Legend for his label when Huey died in a hotel room, just a few weeks after Jimi Hendrix. It became a posthumous release. Fast forward a few years to Kool Herc (one of the original hip-hop DJs, who began to spin two copies of "Listen To Me" at the same time---starting the Baby Huey cult, and leading to "Hard Times" being sampled by the likes of A Tribe Called Quest and Ice Cube. The lacquers for this RSD 2018 release were cut directly from the analog tapes by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Industry. It comes in a tip-on Stoughton jacket and includes a bonus LP of unreleased instrumentals making their vinyl debut.

David Axelrod - Song of Innocence - LP

David Axelrod delivered one of the great psychedelic albums with 1968’s Song of Innocence, based around the poetry of William Blake. It is considered by many his masterpiece. Song of Innocence is this weird hybrid that no one, not even Axelrod himself, could ever really describe. The listener is pulled in by his melodies, simplistic at first blush, but colored by odd chord progressions and turn arounds, grounded by the drummer Earl Palmer and bassist Carol Kaye’s funk, torn between the juxtaposition of musical elements – a jazz vibraphone solo here, a fuzz guitar tear here, a nod to the baroque in Don Randi’s clavichord comps – and put at ease, always, by Axe’s arrangements, which utilize brass and strings in a way that no 1960s arranger did. Song of Innocence set in path a series of artist albums on Capitol and other labels and influenced the world countless times over, from The Verve to DJ Shadow to Madlib to J.Dilla. Remastered from the original tapes in a new transfer, with extensive liner notes and unpublished photos.