The Universe Inside

The Universe Inside

Artist: The Dream Syndicate

New: $11.98 Preorder
Format: CD
Label: ANTI
Genre: Rock & Pop
Released: 04/10/2020
UPC: 045778775125

Similar Items

Title Format Price Add
The Universe Inside [LP] Vinyl - LP
The Universe Inside CD
* = Digital Samples available for this Item.


1. The Regulator
2. The Longing
3. Apropos of Nothing
4. Dusting Off the Rust
5. The Slowest Rendition

More Info:

When one thinks of The Dream Syndicate, it's not just the wild abandon with which singer/guitarist Steve Wynn, drummer Dennis Duck, bassist Mark Walton, and lead guitarist Jason Victor perform - it's the carefully constructed songwriting of Wynn that comes to mind. By now every rock critic in the country has predetermined who he or she feels Wynn reminds them of and what they think of that style of songs. This time, don't! Which brings us to The Universe Inside. Every article or review ever written will claim "this is new and different" - well, it is! Just look at the song lengths: 20:27, 7:36, 8:56, 9:55 and 10:53. Ok, sure - the Syndicate have occasionally committed a long song to vinyl, "John Coltrane Stereo Blues" was 9 minutes with live versions over the ten-minute mark. For the first time, every song is a group songwriting effort. What seeps in are Dennis Duck's knowledge of European avant-garde music, Jason Victor's passion for 70s prog, Mark Walton's experience in Southern-fried music collectives and Wynn's love of vintage electric jazz. The dazzling display of album cover artwork alone should clue you into the changes. But don't take our word for it. Dive in!