Anthropocene [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear with Black Splatter LP]

Anthropocene [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear with Black Splatter LP]

Artist: Peter Oren

Out Of Stock At Store, click BUY button to special order
$22.98 buy new
Format: Vinyl - Indie Exclusive
Genre: Folk
Released: 11/10/2017
UPC: 616892529040

Similar Items

Title Format Price Add
Anthropocene CD $12.98
Anthropocene [LP] Vinyl - LP $21.98
Anthropocene [Indie Exclusive Limited Edition Clear with Black Splatter LP] Vinyl - Indie Exclusive - Indie Exclusive
* = Digital Samples available for this Item.


1. Burden of Proof
2. Anthropocene
3. Falling Water
4. Chain Of Command
5. Throw Down
6. Canary In A Coal Mine
7. New Gardens
8. Pictures From Spain
9. River And Stone
10. Welcome/Goodbye

More Info:

Indiana-born, everywhere-based singer-songwriter Peter Oren possesses a remarkable singing voice, low and deep and richly textured: as solid as a glacier, as big as a mountain. It rumbles in your conscience, a righteous sound that marks him as an artist for our tumultuous times, when sanity seems absent from popular discussions. The songs on Anthropocene are direct and poetic, outraged and measured, taking in the entire fucked-up world from his fixed point of view. Oren attracted the attention of Ken Coomer, the former drummer for Wilco and a producer in Nashville. Together, the duo assembled a backing band featuring some of the city's finest session musicians, including keyboard player Michael Webb (John Fogerty), singer Maureen Murphy (Zac Brown Band), and guitarists Sam Wilson (Sons of Bill) and Laur Jaomets (Sturgill Simpson). On Anthropocene they provide stately backing for Oren's songs, with drips of pedal steel and quivers of strings subtly reinforcing his observations about the state of the world. "Throw Down" bristles with energy and resolve, penned for "the people on the far, far left," Oren says, "the anarchists and the rioters. There's not often a voice that's trying to understand those people or defend those positions."