Strangers In The Night

Strangers In The Night

Artist: Ufo

Out New
Format: CD
Catalog: 20810
Genre: Rock/Pop
Released: 08/10/1999
UPC: 724352081028

Similar Items

Title Format Price Add
Strangers In The Night CD $9.98
* = Digital Samples available for this Item.

Strangers In The Night
Strangers In The Night

Artist: Ufo
1. Natural Thing
2. Out in the Street
3. Only You Can Rock Me
4. Doctor Doctor
5. Mother Mary
6. This Kids
7. Love to Love
8. Lights Out
9. Rock Bottom
10. Too Hot to Handle
11. I'm a Loser
12. Let It Roll
13. Shoot Shoot
14. Hot N Ready - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
15. Cherry - (previously unreleased, bonus track)


By Rick Friel, Easy Street Online

You know, I don’t remember the first time I heard Phil Mogg sing. It was probably hearing “Rock Bottom” on the radio. But I remember thinking "I like it." My brother Chris got Strangers In The Night a few days later. That’s UFO’s best album. No question. It’s a band captured in a magic moment on stage where everything is working. They know it and the nuts in Chicago knew it. As a musician I can tell you, it doesn’t happen that often. But when it does, you just go with it. I fell in love with this album. I’ve heard it so much in my life that, like Kiss Alive! or Foghat Live or Live At Budokan, I hardly play it anymore. But I know it inside and out. I loved the way Pete Way swings with Andy Parker, especially on “Shoot Shoot” and “I’m A Loser”. Pete became a bass hero of mine that year ('79?) and like anyone who heard it, I became a Michael Schenker fan. Those solos. No one plays like him. Paul Raymond adds so much to the sound. Most of my favorite singers, you hear the influence - Beatles, Zep - but I can’t detect anything in Phil Mogg. He’s just him. “Natural Thing”, “This Kid's” and my favorite UFO song still, “Love To Love.” Phil Mogg is a true original. Funny, frank, racy lyrics and a voice all his own. Perfect album. OK, I’ll put it on.